Welcome to the official Pokémon Forums!

Click here to review our official Rules & Guidelines.

New to Pokémon. How do I get started with Pokemon Scarlet and Violet?

Hi. How are you, people? I am New2Games. I am new to the Pocket Monster Franchise. How do I get started with the Pocket Monster Franchise, mainly with the Pokemon Scarlet and Violet video games? What is the best video game version, Scarlet or Violet? What is the best path for a beginner to start with? How do I catch Pokemon the "right" way? Etc, Etc, Etc... Thanks for the help!

Comments

• gabolotl
    gabolotl Member Posts: 1
    Photogenic First Comment

Personally I would start out with Scarlet, as it has more interesting version exclusive pokemon in my opinion. But I'd also recommend picking it based off of which box legend you like more (Koraidon or Miraidon) as you're gonna be with them for almost the entire game.

When you start out, any of the three starters are super helpful, you'll definitely want to keep them in your party. I picked Quaxly and he was very good through out the entire game if you want a suggestion. You'll want to catch a team of pokemon, preferably all different types. Pokemon is basically an advanced game of rock paper scissors, so the more pokemon types you have then the better it'll work out for you. If you'd like to know for the future, Sprigatito becomes grass/dark, Fuecoco becomes fire/ghost, and Quaxly becomes water/fighting.

For the route you should probably go to the bug gym, then the rock titan, then the grass gym, then the fire team star base based on the levels they are. But what's fun about Scarlet/Violet is that the game isn't set on a linear path. You can go wherever you want!! If you go around and explore, it might be a bit more interesting. There are also guides online about what order of badges is best I believe.