Welcome to the official Pokémon Forums!

Click here to review our official Rules & Guidelines.

The early history of the Pokémon Franchise

Hello everyone!

I am new to the Pokémon forums, so firstly I just want to say a big hello to everyone who is reading. It's great to have a place where fans can express themselves about such a beloved franchise! We are fast approaching thirty years of Pokémon, and I am one of the people who started with the franchise in the late 90s.

For anyone who doesn't know, it was a very exciting time to be a kid during the "Pokémania" hype in the late 90s, you couldn't escape it! As a young adult, I was visiting the various fan communities, buying trading cards, stickers, toys, and of course, the video games. My first game was Pokémon Blue with Charmander, and then Pokémon Crystal with Cyndaquil, a game that I absolutely adore, even to this day! While I continued to enjoy the franchise up to the present day, nothing can really beat that earliest era for me, it was truly a special time.

I would very much like to hear more stories from Pokémon fans who grew up during this era, and learn about their experiences. I like to write about those experiences and share them with the world, so people can be educated on what it was like during that early era.

I look forward to hearing from you all!

Comments

• Eremas
    Eremas Member Posts: 805 ✭✭✭
    100 LOLs 100 Likes 100 Agrees 500 Comments

First, and foremost, I'd like to thank you for taking the time to post a thoughtful and well laid discussion.