Welcome to the official Pokémon Forums!

Click here to review our official Rules & Guidelines.

Having Troubles Against Ursaluna? This Might Do The Trick!

Options
Alvoxus
Alvoxus Member Posts: 1

With the Pokémon VGC Regulation Set D now ongoing and ideas beginning to surface, we are starting to see several Pokémons coming into the spotlight. One of them is the teddy bear from ancient history: Ursaluna.

I myself have faced teams with Ursaluna a few times and oh boy, is it the strongest teddy bear. So, I tried to figure out a way to deal with it, and my niche answer is...

Drifblim!

Let me tell you more about it👇️

(Please note that I am not a professional Pokémon VGC player nor a ranked connoisseur, so consider taking my words with a grain of salt.)

I can see why there aren't that many players that use Drifblim as a part of their team during the previous tournaments of Pokémon Scarlet and Violet. Despite having the highest base HP of all Flying-type Pokémon (150), it has a relatively low Defense (44) and Sp. Defense (54) to be considered bulky enough. But, its stats were not the first thing that caught my eye.

As I was looking for a counter to Ursaluna, I initially thought of a good defensive typing against its most common attacks like Facade, Earthquake/Headlong Rush, and Hammer Arm/Close Combat. After a bit of searching, a type combo came to mind: Ghost/Flying. So far, only 3 Pokémons have this type combo: Drifloon, Drifblim, and Oricorio-Sensu Style. I love Drifblim and when I took a closer look at it, Drifblim also has the unique ability called Flare Boost, which increases the power of its Special moves by 50% while the Pokémon is burned.

You see, a big part of what makes Ursaluna so strong is Guts, an ability which boosts its Attack by 50% if it's asleep, burned, paralyzed, or poisoned. The easiest and most common way of achieving said boost is via the held item Flame Orb, which burns the holder at the end of every turn.