Welcome to the official Pokémon Forums!

Click here to review our official Rules & Guidelines.

My feedback on Live as of 22nd April

I've been playing Live for a few months now. I only tried PTCGO for a few days before this, so my impressions are fresh and from the perspective of a new player.

I'll open with some positives from my newbie perspective: the client is pleasant to look at, I like the UI design, and while very limited for options I think the avatar system could flesh out into something worthwhile. Considerable time has been put into making sure all the cards from all these sets work as they're intended, and I know that takes a lot of work. While there are still bugs in the system (I lose occasional matches from being unable to select a viable card) I am enjoying my time with the software.

There are, I feel, issues with the Live client that go deeper than it's technical performance. These are the pointers I'd like the Live team to read and seriously consider. I'll break them down as such;

o The Ladder

Climbing ranked should be challenging. An intense competative scene is heart to many modern TCG's. The Live ladder progress is, sadly, too punishing to be worth playing. With 24 ranks seperated into 5 groups the win percentage required to climb into the Ultraball and above ranks is obscene.

With no point modifiers for fighting higher/lower ranked players it's simply a question of win % numbers, in a game where the top 25 players on earth have 60% winrates, with 70 as the worlds best. With no modifiers, and no rank protections like other online TCG's, I cannot endorse rank climbing in this game... said as a Mythic in Magic Arena and a Plat in Master Duel (I am no stranger to grinding).

o The Reward Currencies