Welcome to the official Pokémon Forums!

Click here to review our official Rules & Guidelines.

learn to play

hello, i have been collecting Pokémon cards for a few years now and i have always wanted to learn to play, i am autistic and dyslexic and it takes me a long time to learn things so would need a group of people that have a lot of patients, does anyone have and recommendationgs or ideas? i am in the uk and live in buckinhmashire ?

thanks for reading

nicky

Comments

• TheJeffers
    TheJeffers Member Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭✭
    1000 Comments 500 Agrees 250 LOLs First Anniversary

Ah, a fellow Brit?

Card games can be quite challenging to learn and understand even for people without dyslexia, especially these days as power creep and complexity creep balloons card text. So don't be too hard on yourself.

Fortunately I would say Pokémon is one of the easier games to read, being focused on a younger audience and lacking a lot of complex game actions that feature in other games.

I would recommend checking the tutorial videos offered on this website as a good starting point. Sadly the site seems to be down right now, so you may need to try again later.

I usually recommend reading the rule book, but maybe hold off on that for now. Or use a text-to-speech program to read it to you.

There are a number of tutorial videos available on YouTube from third party creators. I learned to play several decades ago before YouTube existed, so I haven't used them myself, but I am sure you can find one that makes it easy to understand.

Games are often easier to learn by doing, rather than reading or watching in abstract. You could try playing Pokémon TCG Live. I assume it has a tutorial.

Finally, if you do not have any family or friends to teach you, you could try going to a local games store.

Back when I lived in the UK, I recall that LGSs were fairly low on the ground, but maybe there is one in your local area.