Welcome to the official Pokémon Forums!

Click here to review our official Rules & Guidelines.

I want to get better at Pokemon battling in Violet…

Options

So I would really like to get better at Pokemon battling in the games. But I am not very good at all! I don’t even know what Pokemon are banned from competitive play. I don’t know how to use items or what the best moves are. What is the best way to get better?

Best Answers

• UnovanZorua
    UnovanZorua Member Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭✭
    5 LOLs First Comment 5 Agrees 5 Likes
    #2 Answer ✓
    Options

Competitive in SV has become easier than ever before. You could reset a Pokémon's EVs using stat-lowering berries or reset Mochi,

and then upgrade the Pokémon's best stats using stat-boosting items like HP-ups or defeating a ton of Pokémon that give you specific EVs (example: Houndour gives Sp. Atk EVs, and Chansey gives HP EVs), preferably while holding one of those items that give you more EVs for a specific stat after a battle but lower your speed (I forgot what they were called because I'm rich and just buy stat-boosting items).

Use mints to further boost the Pokémon's stats, giving it a nature that lowers its worst/least necessary stat (example: a Meowscarada with boosted attack or speed and lowered Sp. Atk).

Use Bottle caps and Gold Bottle caps to maximise a Pokémon's IVs. Some strategies involve giving a Pokémon zero or low IVs in one stat or more.

Take Type Matchups, STAB (Same Type Attack Bonus, where a Pokémon using a move the same type as it is makes the move stronger), stats, Type Coverage, common opponents, and the rest of your team into account when deciding moves. You don't want to have zero good moves when a Pokémon or Terastallized Pokémon with a type you don't expect comes into the battle. And you probably don't want to use a move like Earthquake if you're doing a Double Battle and one of your Pokémon has a 4x weakness to it.