Welcome to the official Pokémon Forums!

Click here to review our official Rules & Guidelines.

How to build your own deck and still be viable?

BeansBimi
BeansBimi Member Posts: 4
First Comment Photogenic Name Dropper

I am very new to the Pokémon TCG, and while I immensely enjoy playing, so far the only decks I've used have been either pre-assembled League Battle decks, or exact copies of deck lists I found online for strategies that interested me. Currently I'm running a Palafin deck copied from a list I found on a TCG strategy website, and while it's pretty strong in casual play, I'd love to build my own very own unique deck.

I guess this question is twofold: The first part is, how do I find out which cards I need to be able to make my deck stronger without just copying an online decklist? And secondly, is there any point in playing outside the meta with cards I like, or will my self-assembled decks always be doomed to fail against strong meta decks like Lost Zone Giratina Vstar and Chien-Pao EX?

Forgive me if this is a foolish question, but as I mentioned, I'm extremely inexperienced and would love any help that y'all could offer.

Best Answers

• OlderAngel11
    OlderAngel11 Member Posts: 1,574 ✭✭✭✭
    First Anniversary 250 Likes 1000 Comments 250 Agrees
    #2 Answer ✓

Well, most of the time it is pretty hard to just build your own deck that is completely unique and survive against the meta. I don't really have many tips because I pretty much only play what has already been established as a good deck, but I can say that your deck should be both consistent and have a good focus on what you want to do to win the game.

• pikayou
    pikayou Member Posts: 78 ✭✭✭
    25 Agrees First Anniversary 25 Likes 5 LOLs
    #3 Answer ✓