Welcome to the official Pokémon Forums!

Click here to review our official Rules & Guidelines.

how do i get good cards

iluminatesm
iluminatesm Member Posts: 2

i have been playing since mid 2019 and i have not yet found a way to get good cards for my homemade deck. i don't have the money to buy loads of booster packs

does anybody know a good way to get good cards without breaking the bank ?

Answers

• DragonGodstone
    DragonGodstone Member Posts: 2
    First Comment

Very hard to make deck without paying or just grind for crystals, it's very hard to grind. I give up grinding and got packs but lucky I had most cards so I get a few crystals. I recommend just getting the code cards from people who are just opening packs. Like go to tournament and ask around for the codes, it saves money and help others get rid of useless cards for free

• Octowen
    Octowen Member Posts: 600 ✭✭✭✭
    500 Comments 250 Agrees 100 Likes 100 LOLs

If you’re talking about Pokémon TCG Live, get lots of Celebrations packs because you’ll get credits instead of a fifth copy of a card you pull, and Celebrations has few cards and they’re all rares.

If you’re looking for IRL physical cards, TCGPlayer can be a good online resource for individual cards, it’s what I use.

• nightblitz42
    nightblitz42 Member Posts: 66 ✭✭
    First Anniversary 25 Likes 5 Agrees 5 Answers

(Assuming you're talking about physical cards.)

Booster packs can be fun to open for the surprise, but they are not good for building decks. They are expensive, they are random, and often the individual cards needed for a deck are split up across many different sets. So, if you want to build decks cheaply, avoid "mystery" products like packs and tins.