Welcome to the official Pokémon Forums!

Click here to review our official Rules & Guidelines.

Professor Burnet banned in Standard

Jujudelaplaya86
Jujudelaplaya86 Member Posts: 4
First Comment

Hi!

I’m new to TCG live. I was wondering if anyone knew why professor burnet was not allowed in standard play and if this is something that might change in future.

Thank you,

A novice player

Answers

• Octowen
    Octowen Member Posts: 614 ✭✭✭✭
    250 Agrees 500 Comments 100 LOLs 100 Likes

All cards have a regulation mark (the box at the bottom-left). Prof. Burnett’s regulation mark is E. All E-and earlier regulation marks are rotated. You can only use F, G, and H now.

• Jujudelaplaya86
    First Comment

thank you. So next rotation will be F, correct? That means the Lugia deck will be rotated in its majority?
    how often do rotation take place? I just learn to use Lugia and I also built a physics deck of it so I feel a bit sad to see it go.

Thank you for taking the time to respond to my questions

• Octowen

No problem!

Yes, the next rotation will eliminate the F block. A rotation happens every year, usually near or in April (this year it rotated on April 5th).

So you will still have plenty of time until Lugia rotates in early 2025! 😃

(Yes, in 2025 when we the F block rotates Lugia Vstar itself will rotate as well as a lot of the rest of the deck; in fact once F block rotates we will only be playing with cards from Scarlet&Violet onwards.)

• Jujudelaplaya86
    First Comment

thanks I get it now, I appreciate your time and guidance. I’m sad, I love playing that deck on Tcg live even when it’s hard to set up and I loved buying all the physical cards so knowing that in a year’s time I won’t be able to play it makes me realise that competitive playing is probably not for me bc it sounds like an expensive business.

What deck to you play?
    Burnet seemed made for Lugia Vstar/Minccino/Archeops so I’ll use that combo in casual play at least.